We got a message from a client asking if the message below is from us. If YOU RECEIVED ONE OF THESE DO NOT CLICK THE LINK AND RESPOND TO THIS MESSAGE. It seems legitimagte because it has Jim's domain name in it. If you get one it will have your domain name in it.
>Dear user of the jimmichaud.net mailing service!
>We are informing you that because of the security upgrade of

>the mailing service your mailbox (
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
)
>settings were changed. In order to apply the new set of
>settings click on the following link:
>http://jimmichaud.net/owa/service_directory/settings.php?email= This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it &from=jimmichaud.net&fromname=jim
>Best regards, jimmichaud.net Technical Support.
>Message-ID#65SAV6D76D3A0KYNB9AOG2QD4
DO NOT CLICK THE LINK AND RESPOND TO THIS MESSAGE.
If you right click the link you will see that the messsage actually goes to this link...
http://jimmichaud.net.okqwav.com.pl/owa/service_directory/settings.php?email= This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it &from=jimmichaud.net&fromname=jim
THIS IS NOT OUR ADDRESS. When you're trying to determine if an address is real, check the domain. The domain is ACTUALLY the LAST PART of the the address. In this case .pl
All of the address before that indicates various SUBDOMAINS that are on the server. If they are on our server they may look like http://develop.webeddy.com. The last subdomain right before the .com in the address will be webeddy. Official communication from us or links to us will always end in webeddy.com.
A .pl domain or any combination of letters other than .com, .biz, .org, .net (see this page for a complete list http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Internet_top-level_domains)is from a foreign country.
You may get some emails from us that are connected to various reseller accounts that we have. Domains that we use are...
webeddy.com
mywebeddy.com
dashonline.com
enom.com
You may be getting domain renewal notices from mywebeddy.com, dashonline.com or enom.com, these are the companies we use to buy domain name registrations and security certificates for you.
If you get any notices from Domain Registry of America or anyone else regarding domain renewals THEY ARE FALSE, and an attempt to get you to switch to higher priced services.
If a renewal notice comes in the mail from anyone other than webeddy.com - it's a fake.
If you receive renewal notices or notices of changes to your account check with us before you do anything.
We may need to do security updates or password updates from time to time. If we need to do that, we will let you know in our newsletter first, and send you an email announcing the change, then make the changes. You shouldn't be surprised by any changes we make.